Anthony Braxton – New York, Fall 1974

LP, Arista Records, 1975

Recorded September 27 & October 16, 1974

Style: Avant-Garde Jazz, Modern Creative, Post-Bop

Vibe: Knotty, Angular, Complex, Cerebral, Exploratory, Serious, Bustling (Side A), Mysterious (Side B)

Musical Qualities: Polyphonic, Extended Technique, Improvisation, Thematic, Instrumental


  • Anthony Braxton – Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Contrabass Clarinet, Flute, Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone
  • Jerome Cooper – Drums, Percussion
  • Hamiet Bluiett – Baritone Sax
  • Julius Hemphill – Alto Sax
  • Dave Holland – Upright Bass
  • Leroy Jenkins – Violin
  • Oliver Lake – Tenor Sax
  • Richard Teitelbaum – Synthesizers
  • Kenny Wheeler – Flugelhorn, Trumpet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s